Confessions of a Transfer Student

Okay y’all, lets get real for a sec.

I. Am. Scared. I admit it. A year ago if you had asked me if I thought I’d be one of those people who transferred colleges, I would have laughed in your face! I am a planner. I like to have everything in my life in control and figured out, in advance. But this year has taught me all about what it means to let go and surrender what I thought my plan for the future was to God’s plan.

Everyone knows the verse “For I have made plans for you….yadayadayada” but I like to be different, so here’s one that spoke to me.

The human heart plans the way, but the lord directs the steps.

Proverbs 16:9

We can dream and wish with all our heart to do one thing. But none of it is possible without God. He is constantly directing our path, we just have to be open to it.

To trust one’s instincts or follow a gut feeling takes a lot of courage. I’m not saying I am an extremely corageous person but, I knew I had a weird feeling in the pit of my stomach about what I was doing with my life. It took me an entire summer to stop pushing it away, acknowledge it was there, and trust it. When I finally trusted myself and believed that God was trying to say something to me, I felt the weight of my world lift from my shoulders. 

My first year of college was not awful. In fact, it was great! I liked my school a lot. God blessed me with amazing and wonderfully genuine friends that I was hoping to find. I grew in my faith, I tried new things, and I challenged myself as an artist. However, when something feels off, it just is. I tried so hard to make my school work, but in the end I found myself longing to be somewhere else.

Why am I saying all of this, you’re probably asking? Why should you care what I have to say about transferring schools? Well, I guess it’s kind of an ode to my friends who didn’t wind up at their first choice school or those who are skeptical about their current path. I just want people who are confused to know it’s okay to change your mind and it’s okay to be scared. You are not alone. I read a lot of articles and blog posts about transferring before I decided to take this step, so maybe this post will find its way to some aprehensive college student. If you’re that person and you’re reading this, I hope this helps you.

My first year at a new school- take 2. Here we go…

I am now currently sitting in my new dorm room on this massive campus that is Texas State University. It’s funny because this was not my dream school either my first time around. But when I decided to change my career goals, somehow this place fell into the top of my list. I moved into my new dorm this past weekend with a bunch of freshman, which I’ll admit felt a little strange. It’s taken a lot of adjusting being on such a large campus. I’ve walked more in two days than I have in a long time, and I’ve walked up a LOT of hills. When people ask me if I’m a freshman, I have to give them the shpeel about being a transfer student, but it’s okay. Even though I’m in a new place, I know how to do the college thing and introduce myself to new people. I thought it’d be nerve wracking to do all of this again, but it’s been fun. I’m hoping to continue writing about the experiences I’ll have in the next few weeks, so if you’re curious, please keep reading. I love getting to practice my writing and I think this is a great topic to do that with.

Goodnight beautiful humans!

– Mads

One thought on “Confessions of a Transfer Student

Leave a Reply

