Book Review: Lady Midnight

I wouldn’t consider myself a book addict, but I’ve definitely read some classics and all of the popular books like Divergent and The Hunger Games. I’d say much like my taste in TV shows, my taste in books is very much of the “guilty pleasure” sort. Yes, I am a Nicholas Sparks fan. I will say that one of my guilty pleasure books is extremely merited. This series of books that I am absolutely in love with is entertaining, well written, original in it’s concept, and over all a great series. One reason I love it so much is because it is the perfect blend of fantasy and reality. I read all 6 books in the series The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare during my junior and senior year of high school and was completely fascinated by the world she created.

To give you a little background on what these books are all about….Clare writes about a race of half human half angel beings called Shadowhunters. They have the strength of the angels paired with the intellect and weaknesses of humans. They were chosen by the angel Raziel to protect the human race from demons. All of Clare’s books cover the relationships between the Shadowhunters and the league of what she calls “Downworlders” that consist of Vampires, Werewolves, and Fairies. If you enjoy the Vampire Diaries or Twilight, then these books will definitely be up your alley.

Over spring break I embarked on the journey Clare’s new series that takes place 5 years after the end of the last book in the Mortal Instruments Series. The first book in this new series The Dark Artifices is called Lady Midnight. I think I love this book more than the first book by Clare that I ever read. I had my eyes glued to the pages the entire week! The story centers around Emma Carstairs, a young and passionate Shadowhunter hell-bent on avenging her parents’ murder that occurred during the dark war 5 years earlier. She along with her fighting partner, Julian Blackthorn, bound to her for life in a platonic covenant-type relationship known as “parabatai” attempt to solve this mystery while holding their family together without a true legal guardian. Both of Julian’s parents were killed as well as Emma’s during the dark war and they assumed responsibility of the Shadowhunter Institute in Los Angeles as well as the responsibility of the four younger Blackthorn children. Lady Midnight is a really great romance novel and murder mystery bound into one. If you love stories of forbidden love or crime solving, you will absolutely love this book. And you don’t necessarily need to read the prequel series The Mortal Instruments in order to follow along, but I loved the series so much that I would highly recommend it. If you pick up this book, I promise you won’t regret it!

lady midnight

Leave a Reply

